100th Post Blog Love-Fest

Okay, so today is my 100th day posting.  Making what you are reading right now, my 100th post.  As a result, I’m going to do something crazy, something hysterical (in the best sense of the word), and I’m going to turn this blog into a feast for the senses.  Alright, maybe that’s lofty goal for a 100th post.  Let me aim lower, okay, here it is:  I will include…Highlights from the “Read More” section (my blog posts that could use a little more love and why), a mini-reggie story, AND A LINK FOR 100 of MY FOLLOWERS.  Yes, you heard that right.  Let’s get started.


This 100 year old woman says coffee and cigarettes keep her alive. I say after 100 years, she can do whatever the feck she wants. Photo credit, below.


Read Mores that Need More Love:


Making Reality:  This is the very first post I had ever written on here.  I think it’s insane.  It’s NOT told from my POV.  It’s told from the POV of a woman who eventually sleeps with Jon Gosselin from Jon and Kate, Plus 8.  I’m serious.  I was so “challenged” when I first started blogging that I didn’t even include a picture.  It’s all story, no image.  But, I promise, it’s a fun read.


Dr. G:  I’m obsessed with Dr. G, Medical Examiner.  I think she’s a brainiac and an all around decent person.  I try to have this blog act as decent as she does.


What a Woman from 1846 Thinks About Today’s News:  A silly piece that does just what it says.  Enjoy.




A few years back, I hosted my own show at a little place called B3.  It was named B3 because it was located on Avenue B and 3rd Street in Manhattan.  This seems to be somewhat of a tradition in New York, especially on the Lower East Side.  There are many establishments named after their exact locations – 7A, Bar on A, B3, etc.  At the time, B3 was a little bistro.  In the basement of the bistro was a cool little bar and a stage for performances.  I met the owners of the place – an awesome Manhattan couple, one an ex model, the other an owner of a construction company – and asked if I could run a show in their basement.  The show ran – pretty successfully – for 4 years.  I’m proud of that show to this day.


I also had an interesting thing happen at B3.  Eventually, my little show grew some Reggies.  Yep, that’s right – real, live, ones.  There was a girl named Betty, a lovely, Jewish, married couple, and a male steward named Martin.  Martin is who I’m going to talk about today.


Martin came to my show every single Wednesday when he was in town.  I believe he was flying the New York route regularly from somewhere to NY.  We were young then and I think Martin was around 22 years old.  If I can be so bold, I also think Martin was maybe gay, but perhaps not out at the time.  If he wasn’t, my apologies.  When I say such a thing, it only means that you are extra special in my eyes.  All I know, in truth, is that Martin loved my show and that I loved him back.  I mean he beamed when he was at my show.  He was such a warm and loving person and just about the best audience member you could ever meet.  I don’t mean to speak of Martin, as if he were dead.  I don’t believe he is, since he should be a bit younger than me right now.  I’m speaking of him in the past tense because we have lost touch with each other, but I have NOT forgotten him.  Here’s the thing you need to know about Martin, he made my show better.  Just by being there, he made it better.  When you sit in an audience, some people do so passively, but Martin never did.  He was fully present and alive during my show.  I noticed it and I appreciate it to this day.


I’m going to say the same thing about today’s MINI-Reggie in regards to my blog.  Now, I’m not saying she’s a Mini-Reggie to make light of her blog or anything she does.  I’m only saying so because I get the sense that her blog is in flux.  So, I think when you go to this Mini-Reggie’s site, you should leave her a comment and tell her who YOU are.  I suggest this particular action because this particular blogger has made MY site better.  Honestly, every time she comments, she brightens my day.  She is a beacon of warmth and humanity and she lives in beautiful India.  And if she blesses your blog by stopping by and leaving a comment, you’ll understand exactly why the places she stops become just a little bit brighter.


Without further adieu, Sweet Mother is proud to introduce on today’s SPECIAL, 100th Post Blog Love Fest:


Little Miss Obsessive Anatomy

This is Little Miss's Dog next to some "reggie" bran bread.


Lastly, the LINK GAME:


As of today, I have 779 followers.  I am VERY grateful for that.  So, I’ve decided to break my little fingers by presenting this link game.  Below is a numerical link to 100 of my subscribers taken completely at random.  Click on one or two of them, read their content, comment, and maybe even follow.  It’s like blowing out 100 candles all at once.  It’s my way of saying thank you.  Sweet Mother loves you and she is very happy that you’re here.


Much love, SM.


1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100.


End-note:  If I don’t get back to your comment immediately, it’s because I’m moving today.  But, I do read all of your thoughts from my little crackberry-android phone.  They make me smile, even as a mover is breaking my furniture.  So, please leave one.  Comments are like candy for SM and SM has a very big sweet tooth.



Sweet Mother is updated daily (even when I’m feckin’ moving)!  You can follow this oasis of a blog by clicking the “follow” button at the top of the page.


Photo credits:  100 year old woman photo and article

82 thoughts on “100th Post Blog Love-Fest

  1. I’m actually the first person to comment on this post. Hallelujah! Great post as usual mother and I agree 100% on how your audience makes your performance. I have a couple of people who regularly comment on my blog and I love them dearly. Congrats on a 100 posts. You are awesome! :-)

      1. We must have been typing at the same time…but the blog God chose yours to go first. I bet he’s gay and likes your ass. :-P

      2. No shit…I would tackle you and drag you back…but then again, that’s just me. :-P

  2. That 100 list had to be a NIGHTMARE to do .. wow cool but I cannot imagine he difficulty … always love the updates. v/r Beers …

  3. You have never steered me wrong blog-wise, so I shall click and follow. I’m sure I could waste and entire day going back and reading all your posts that I missed before I found you, but then my homeschooled son would be a dolt and that would be bad. One of these days I’ll have more than 10 minutes to myself. :-)

  4. Happy 100th, Sweet Mother, and good luck with the move! I see many friends in your *100*, lots to check out – and thank you so much for including mine :) Loved your Mini-Reggie story … and 4 years hosting your own show, wow, that’s an awesome accomplishment! :)

  5. Mazel tov on your 100th post, may you write hundreds more!!

    And now I’m going to spend the rest of my day productively by clicking on the 100 links you provided.

  6. The 100 Link Game was a lot of fun! You have a very diverse group of followers! Congratulations on 100 and can’t wait to read what comes next!

  7. Happy 100th post! (I am 2 away from that milestone, myself!) Excited that I made the 100 list… I know it was random, but I feel honored just the same. Good luck with the move!

  8. Happy Hundredth! And Happy Moving, too (though, I don’t think there’s anything happy about the process, only the destination). This is my first jump over here, from Speaker7. A bonus that all of your posts are pinged on one page. Fun! I’ll do a random sampler…

  9. Congrats Mother! Nice milestone and VERY cool way to celebrate it. Love the number/link idea! What do you bet Pink hit each link to find his?? ;-) Congratulations on all of this, and best on the move. Big cyber hug.

    1. Congrats on 100! The blog doesn’t look a post over 50. You’ll have to let us know the secrets of keeping so young and fresh. I only hope my blog looks that good at 100.

      Good luck with the moving! And sorry about the aborted comment. Fat fingers + small iPhone = disaster.

  10. Geeze, I was going to help you move. Am I too late? Sorry. Next time, I’ll be there with my big strong arms and powerful lifting legs. All joy in your new place. HF

  11. So proud of you, and what a way to celebrate with this wonderful portrait of a part of the city I’ve always LOVED! Congratulations!

  12. if i could i would hug you and not let go for a good number of seconds..
    Sweet Mom you are a blog angel… being introduced by you on your 100th is the biggest honor i can have….
    if i was in America, i would have had brought cookies for you and wifey to tell you how happy im to be a part of your journey..
    i may be Martin in every way (which by the is a sweet description) but i will never go out of touch..as long as im blogging im going to be a regular part of your audience

    Happy 100th Sweet Mom and thankyou for the honor, love and affection..
    happy shifting :)
    lots of love – Little

  13. Excellent way to keep us amused and off your back while you’re in mid move, Mama. Kudos for the effort and dedication to your readers involved in that task. :)
    Best wishes for the transition and I hope it becomes “Home Sweet Home” in double-quick time.

  14. You are just so creative, nice, and funny!!! This is one of the best posts you’ve had, and now please excuse me as I click on every single link you have in your blog today. I’ll be reading all day long thanks to you SM! {and that’s a good thing} ♥

  15. Okay, as someone who has moved a billion times, what a great distraction you got goin’ here. I wish I’d been blogging all the times the packers were going through my pile of Good Will stuff asking, “hey, can I have this?” That would have made for some fun reading. Future post? Maybe.
    Clicked on some random numbers to see if by chance I won the blog lotto. Fun!

  16. Congrats on your 100th posting! It seems like only yesterday, you had 99 posts. Thank you for the image of Jon Gosselin be mounted like a unicycle on a cobblestone street. It somewhat makes up for Kate’s awful stomping on Dancing with the Stars.

  17. such an awesome post! Happy 100th!! That woman could easily easily be my grandmother – super old and does what ever the heck she wants to! LOVE IT!
    It’s finals time for me and my study breaks have so far consisted of me reading the blogs you linked to! I WAS SHOCKED to see that you linked to mine! Sad it was my old one but still SO appreciative!!
    Congratulations on your 100th!

  18. Thank you for linking to my wife’s blog (#72)! It totally made her day. And it was the kind of day that needed a bit of shininess in it. So, by extension, you made my day, too.

  19. Wow! Congrats. I have a feeling you’ll be more than double that number by your next 100 posts.

    Also, what a cool way to honor your first 100 subs. You da (wo)man!

Leave a Reply

