Things I Am Currently Avoiding:

Brussel Sprouts. I used to hate these as a child. Now I sort of like them if cooked in chicken broth. Maybe if I live long enough I’ll eventually enjoy doing my taxes?

My student loans

Blogging with passion

diets

My book – though I’ve promised myself I will finish this week

My blog comments section – SORRY.  I promise I won’t avoid it today.

Seeking another job

The spec script I need to write

The shorts script I need to write for my new project – though I’ve promised myself I’ll also finish that this week

Taking an emory board to my finger nails – I can’t, so they’re staying shredded, but short enough to type

My next reggie profile – though I’ll finish it this week, me thinks

Everyone seeking advice – my advice desk is currently closed, but it will reopen shortly.  I won’t even charge 5 cents like Lucy does on Peanuts.

Reading other blogs – sorry.  I will start up again this week.

Dusting.  We live by a highway and dust is like air here.  In fact, it’s the same thing.

Baking.  I’ve always avoided baking.  I don’t like it, though I love to eat it.  Cooking, yes.  Baking, no.  Wifesy always says she’s going to bake for me, but I haven’t seen it yet.  Not even a cookie.  What the feck, Wifesy?  (Let’s see if she reads this.)

Dealing with my mom’s birthday.  It’s involved.  It’s her 70th.  My brother and I have to figure something out and our father is not being easy about it because he’s embarrassed of the gay.  I have grown weary of his embarrassment.

Making money.  I seem to have avoided that for most of my life, somehow.  Ha, ha.

 

So, that’s my list.  I thought I’d just put out there into the air, the things that I’m avoiding in an attempt to see if that will change whether or not I avoid them.  I suspect some things will get worked on and others won’t.

 

Now for the fun part, my dear, blogging friends:  JM, has nominated me for a new award.  In this award, your blog readers / friends / fellow writers ask you anything and you answer it in your next blog post.  So, ask away below in the comments section and I’ll do my best to answer truthfully and honestly.  And if I can’t do that I promise to at least be funny.

 

I’ll do my best to honor an award for once.

 

I promise not to avoid it.  😉

 

***

As always, your comments are lovingly appreciated.  And this time, I’ll answer anything you want like some kind of crazed party game for the stay-at-home, blogger-types.  😉 So, ask away, my lovelies.

 

**

Sweet Mother is updated daily.  If you’d like to follow this blog, you can do so by clicking the “follow” button above.

 

*

Photo credits:  brussel sprouts

53 thoughts on “Things I Am Currently Avoiding:

  1. My actual job while I look for a new one

    The synopsis due the editor for my next novel because I’m not done the first one

    Ordering books for school because then I have to admit class starts again

    LOL

  2. Good luck, SM with all those things on your list. Stop avoiding me and visit me sometimes — add that to your list. Just kidding, I sincerely wish you all the best with that list. Several of yours are on my list as well. I look forward to that honesty thing and all your funny. :). I hope your sweet Mom has a great birthday and you guys figure how to make the best one ever! Be well, friend.

    1. i’ll get to your place this week, i promise. you’re a great writer and i miss it. it’s not personal, this i swear. i’m just barely keeping up with my own blogging shennanigans as of late, but i promise to change all that very shortly. xoxoox

  3. My avoid list looks quite similar to yours Sweet-Mom…
    and Shannon.Kennedy’s avoid list…except maybe the:
    student loans
    book writing
    baking
    spec script writing
    seeking job or any job
    I mentioned baking all ready, right?
    passion…that was only for blogging, right?

    Well…guess we have a few commonalities…
    No matter….
    I’m continue to send you GOLD STARS and baked goods.
    All chocolate.
    Chocolate GOLD STARS!
    That’s an affirmative…everything.

  4. I’m avoiding:
    anything involving politics because I seriously cannot take the shite any longer
    bathing suits
    electromagnetic fields
    speaking

    As for my question to you, it is thus: If God exists, then why hasn’t the Westboro Baptist Church been flattened by a giant foot?

  5. things im avoiding
    -my assignments
    -my story
    -cleaning my wardrobe
    -exercise
    -reading

    phew it is a long list sweet mom.. and since im off to vacation i think i should pack my bag… i will miss you blog … 🙂 will ask my question when im back..

  6. {{{HUGS}}} Sweet Mother. Sounds like you need a vacation!
    Hope the fam thing gets sorted okay.

    I prescribe walks, movies, books, and tasty baked goods. That should sort you.

    My question? If you could create any fictitious beast or human/beast for your next book or movie (eg Godzilla, the Incredible Hulk, a Killer Tomato) what would it be, and why?

    1. ooooooooooooohhhhh, also a delicious question that i will enjoy answering…and i’m alright, cauldrons. just a little cantankerous, which is part of the normal ebb and flow for me. much love, much love, sweet mom

  7. Nice. I’m avoiding most things as well, which isn’t good because I’ve been working really hard at becoming less avoidant. I do like Brussel Sprouts though, like mini cabbages.

    1. “which isn’t good because i’ve been working really hard at becoming less avoidant.” i think, my dear friend, you’ve just summed up the human condition. 😉 xoxox, sm

  8. I don’t have an avoid list. I avoid them. 😉

    As of this moment, I am question free. Will be stopping back if I can think of one that would be good enough to be answered by you.

  9. Have you considered your avoidance list has a stream of consciousness?

    (yes that is a question)

    We have similar lists (nearly). I suspect though you feel bad about your list, I don’t feel bad about mine. Mine simply is what it is, I wanted to put Jury Duty on my list today but decided since Dallas County is so anal about issuing Contempt citations (they even set up a court just for this) I would go so they could dismiss me for cause……

    Attorney: Have you ever been party to a criminal case?
    Me: Yes
    Attorney: What type?
    Me: I was kidnapped and shot three times, left for dead.
    Attorney: What happened?
    Me: I just told you, oh you mean to the convicts. Two of them are still inside, one got out this year.
    Attorney: Do you think this is fair?
    Me: They got time I got Life.
    Attorney: Have you ever been party to a Civil case?
    Me: Yes
    Attorney: What kind?
    Me: I was the plaintiff in an EEOC case, before you ask I won
    Attorney: What did you think about the attorney’s?
    Me: Mine was great, the defendants was an unethical slime just like their client who should crawl under a rock and remain there.

    Two hours later, I was dismissed. Go Figure.

    I have done this same thing at least twice a year. You would think they would keep a database!

    The point? Don’t feel bad about your list. Don’t do what you don’t want to do or have to do. Do what is necessary and than what you want, in that order.

    Val

    1. val, you never cease to amaze me with your awesome comments. i don’t know if your jury duty dialogue is true, but if it is – hollllly, hollllly sh*t. i thought you were pretty amazing before and now, ay yay yay, there are no words. anyway, not only is your commentary ultra fascinating/ interesting, but the advice is damn good and i will do my best to do as you say – not feel bad, do what is necessary and then what i want. wow, such great stuff. sincerely, great stuff. much love, sm

  10. Sometimes writing things down is a good way to start approaching them. As for a question: If you had the power to change 3 things in the world, what would they be? (They can be anything — laws, human behaviors, you choose.)

  11. If you are avoiding dieting, then maybe avoiding baking is a good thing? lol
    I bake a batch of cookies once a week and bring a dozen or so into work. Of course, I wind up eating several as well. Not good. My list is also a lot like yours and my father will be 70 at the beginning of august. Good luck with your list and if you’re looking for a volunteer to be your next reggie…. 🙂

      1. Actually…that whole comment sounded perverted…but then again, my mind can make almost anything sound dirty…lol.

        Wifesy!! I think mother needs some atttention…. ;-P

  12. How do you avoid your student loans and not get hunted and killed? Or sued? Or depleted of your entire bank account? I would dance naked in the streets with my lesbian lover in the middle of Christian Hate, USA if you can tell me how to avoid Sallie f’in Mae

    1. forbearance, forbearance, forbearance is all i can say. if you have the desire to be a jack-hole, like me, you can double your loan through interest by constantly putting it off. it’s wonderfully horrible, i promise you.

  13. As for the list. Mark them all as done and make a new list. Nothing actually changes, except for that sweet, ahhh all done feeling for a brief few minutes 😉

Leave a Reply

