Let’s Play a Game.

Games, we all love them.  My mother, who was recently locked in the house with my father for days without lights, learned every damn card game in the book.  These are the gifts that Hurricane Sandy gave them – the ability to beat anyone at cribbage.  I find myself coming up with ridiculous games recently, probably because my brain needs a break.  Usually, whenever my brain is overly taxed, I have a reoccurring dream where I do nothing, but hit baseballs thrown at me via a pitching machine over and over and over, like some kind of deranged cast member in League of Their Own.

Recently, however, my brain is making up games.  I’m not sure they’re any good, but feck it, let’s play them anyway.

Today’s game I like to call, “Phrase-Break.”

Sounds like, Prison Break, but with a whole dollop more nerd on top.

Okay, so in “Phrase-Break,” I throw out a sentence or two and from the “clues” you have to pick out the phrase or saying (idiom) that I am referencing.  You have to “break” it out of its nonsense.

Here’s an example:

“As I walked into the Asian store, the security guard kept looking at me sideways, but I didn’t break a thing.”

Answer:  LIKE A BULL IN A CHINA SHOP.

See…It’s easy.  I try to pull you away from the phrase and you try to find your way back to it like Lassie.

All you have to do to play is leave the phrase “answers” in the comments section.  Winners will receive “virtual” gifts from me.  And, I mean, who doesn’t like “virtual” gifts?  Virtual nincompoops, that’s who!

Ok, let us begin.  Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you…. (drum roll, please!)

PHRASE – BREAK

1.  “The dentist worked on me, even though I was wrapped in a bow…”

2.  “I told him about the crisp located near his neck and he was pissed…”

I say “sweatpants,” you say “joggybottoms.”

3.  “The gentleman gave me two prosthetics to pay his fee.”

4.  “Fido went towards the tree that was NOT pictured on Google maps.”

5.  “…between a HUDSON and a boner.”

6.  “Jamie Olive, Emeril Lagasee, and Paul Deen tried to make the soup.  It was a disaster.”

7.  “Against all advice to the contrary, the guy lived in a greenhouse and practiced the shot put.”

7 answers to win your virtual dreams today, at Sweet Mother, when you play PHRASE-BREAKER.  Wait, should I call it “phrase-break or phrase-breaker?”

I want the one that sounds more like this feels…

Maybe the best game ever?

Thanks for playing.  Thanks for being you…and good night.

***

Sweet Mother is updated daily-ish.  Hit the “follow” button for more.

**

Photo creds:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, fireworks, wipeout

44 thoughts on “Let’s Play a Game.

  1. 1..confuses me, 2…chip on his shoulder…3…cost an arm and a leg….4 lost in the woods??….5..Between a rock and a haaaahhhhd place….6..Too many chefs ruin the broth(or something)…7…Those in glass houses should not throw stones..

      1. i like that better than gift horse, for sure… ;0 sigh, what a lame game, for sure… but, this 365 posts is KILLING ME… so i try bizarre things. hopefully, one day, there will NOT be a picture of me doing meth on this blog… but, i can’t guarantee it. incidentally, anytime i spell guarantee, i have to sound out gwarantee like a person in a shelter for people who have fallen on their heads… just saying…

  2. 1. Never look a gift (horse) in the mouth
    2. Chip on his shoulder
    3. Cost an arm and a leg
    4. barking up the wrong tree?
    5. Between a rock and a hard place
    6. Too many chefs spoil the soup
    7. People who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones..

      1. wow, more people liked it than i thought… hopefully, i’ll come up with a better one soon. i need a work around so ppl can’t see everyone else’s answers. i don’t have a solution other than the honor system…looool.

    1. i think that’s a better saying than ‘you’ve got a chip on your shoulder.’ it’s more to the point, like, ‘stop being an a-hole.’ GET THE CHIP OFF YOUR SHOULDER, JACKRABBIT! LOOOL. i loved this. xo

  3. 3. it cost an arm and a leg!
    5. between a rock and a hard place….?
    6. too many cooks in the kitchen
    7. those in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones (without a spotter)

      1. Maybe there’s a way with forms? I think WordPress has something like that, where people can fill things in…. But I’m nowhere near tech-savvy enough to figure that one out. But the idea’s a good one!

  4. 1, fit to be tied
    2, chip on your shoulder
    3, Cost an arm and a leg
    4, ??
    5, between a rock and a hard place (LOL, by the way)
    6, too many cooks spoil the broth
    7, people who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones

    This was fun! I used to do crossword puzzles voraciously so I adore puzzles. The last one I did was when I was in labor. Ha.

    1. i want to create better ones of these. i had a slight away from computer meltdown when i put 2+2 together and i was like…’everyone can see everyone else’s answers, you dimwit!’ but, then i recovered. 4- ‘barking up the wrong tree’ – everyone had the hardest time with that. could be because my clue was completely convoluted. looooool. xo, sm

  5. 1. Look a gift horse in the mouth.
    2. He’s got a chip on his shoulder
    3. It cost me an arm and a leg.
    4. Barking up the wrong tree.
    5. Between a rock and a hard place
    6. Too many cooks spoil the soup
    7. People who live in stone houses shouldn’t throw glasses:)

      1. Momma – that totally rocks – speaking of rocks, I live in a rock house – glass is a lot harder to clean up than rocks, so I advise visitors never to throw their glasses.

  6. 1. Looking a gift horse in the mouth
    2. He had a chip on his shoulder
    3. It costs an arm and a leg
    4. ???
    5. Between a rock and a hard place
    6. Too many cooks spoil the broth
    7. People in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones

    1. barking up the wrong tree… and for some reason only smart people outside of the u.s. EVER get number 6 correct. i think we must say a different variation…something like too many cooks spoil the soup as opposed to broth. strange. anyhoo, moms LOVES you for playing. xoxo

    1. don’t look a gift horse in the mouth and barking up the wrong tree. but, i suppose you figured that out by now. i realized, only after posting, that everyone could look at everyone else’s answer, so my game was a mini-disaster. looool. xoxoxo, sm

Leave a Reply

