jumping for joy 365 day writing blog project

I’m Alright! And the Britney Spears Incident. : Post 1

Good morning, my lovelies.  So, I’ve spent the Thanksgiving holiday re-grouping a bit before I embark on this last stretch towards 365 consecutive posts.  I’m at 290, but technically some of those were picture posts or “I’m not going to post today” posts.  I’m counting only the written pieces.  So, that brings me down to 279 with this post making it 280.  That’s another 85 posts to go and I’ve hit my target of 365.

 

Not bad.

 

This is not me. But, it is a man who did a self-portrait everyday for 365 days…

 

It means I should be “done” with this posting project about mid-February if I can keep them pretty steady until then.  From this point forward, you’ll see a post number next to my title.  That’s so you can all share the excitement with me or the pain or whatever it may be as I write for these last 85 miles.

 

I decided to take a break for a few days because I’ve been writing pretty consistently (at least 5 days per week or more with very few exceptions) since late January of 2012.  I want these last 85 to be quality posts.  So, it was time to get some perspective and to FEEL the need to write again.  Literally, yesterday, I woke up thinking, “I need to write” and so it was time to start again.

 

Some cool things you’ll see coming up as I wind down the last 85 posts:  a cool author interview with my published writer friend, Dan Curry, and a new weekly piece called, “Blogs of the Week.”  I’ll also be posting about how I failed or quit at NaNoWriMo, on purpose, because I got the chance to write for Joan Rivers.

 

This camel comes up when you do a flickr search for “failure.” I don’t think it’s right at all. This camel is a success!

 

I’ve also been missing out on my reading of other blogs.  So, once a week for the last 85 posts, I’m going to do a “write up” on 5 blog posts I particularly enjoyed reading that YOU have written.  Look out for that.

 

Lastly, as the title states, “I’m alright!”  And that’s a big shout out and a THANKS to the caring and sweet couple of peeps who asked me when I was going to start posting again and if I was okay.

 

Much as Madame Weebles has said, I’m constantly surprised by the community here on WordPress.  I was hoping for readers when I first started posting, but I had no idea I’d also procure real friends.  (What a cool thing that is.)

 

And now a post-script word or two about my Thanksgiving:

 

My ham was an utter hit.  I took a few days and headed out with Wifesy to my brother’s rental place in the desert to enjoy the pool.  There, a woman, single handedly, won a new holiday award…and I call that award…

 

BEST THANKSGIVING BREAKDOWN.

 

It was not a member of my family.  (Thank God for small favors…)  It was the mother of a family friend.

 

Here’s what went down… Oh, but before I begin, it’s important to note that this woman was from the South.  She’s from the South and may also (for reasons unknown to me) feel insecure about it.  Anyway, here’s a transcript of what happened.

 

The son:  Britney Spears is such white trash.

Mother:  If Britney Spears is white trash and she’s from the South then you must be saying I’m white trash because I’m from the South.  Are you calling me white trash?

Son:  What?!  No.

Mother:  Shut the feck up.  You just called me white trash.

I’ll let you be the judge…

My brother steps in.

My brother:  Ah, ma’am.  No one was calling you white trash.  That’s not what he was saying.

Mother:  Shut the feck up!

My brother’s boyfriend:  Don’t tell him to shut the feck up!  You shut the feck up!

And then all hell breaks loose.  In true gorgeous, dramatic, style drinks were thrown!

Then my actual mother steps in.

(to the other mother)  My mother:  why don’t I take you into the bedroom for a lay down.  I think you’ve had too much to drink.

 

Thankfully, she did NOT tell my mother to shut the feck up or it would’ve become even more nasty.  Sweet Mother Fecker type ‘o nasty.

 

Oh, Thanksgiving.  Oh, holidays.  How you let the thinly veiled issues of those who haven’t worked through them shine through the holiday booze and spray themselves upon the innocent.  We are grateful to you, holidays, for the Shakespearian tragedies you paint upon our otherwise boring lives.  That’s my long winded way of saying, “I can’t wait for Christmas.”

 

And just to get it down on the official record… Britney Spears IS white trash.

 

***

Sweet Mother is on a quest to post 365 consecutive posts.  She is 84 posts shy.  She writes new content here, nearly, everyday.  If you’d like to follow this blog, you can do so by clicking the follow button at the top, right of the page.

 

**

You might also like:

What a Woman from 1846 Thinks About Today’s News

 

*

Photo creds:

Britney, camel, 365, feature-jump

 

64 thoughts on “I’m Alright! And the Britney Spears Incident. : Post 1

    1. jots, i missed all of you. and you in particular! because i love chocolate and your notes. okay, they are comments, but i like to think of them as “notes.” ;) xmas, here we come… looool. xo, sm

      1. yep, it’s this saturday, dec 1 in LA. are you in la, sk? i feel like you are. you are welcome to come if you’re around. and if you are, definitely let me and the wifesy know about your music stuff. wifesy is an ex-musician and we’re always looking for good things to go to… maybe you’re not even in cali and i have that sooooo wrong… i feel like you are tho. lool. xo, sm

      2. Guess what? Not in LA but pretty dang close. I’m one county down from you. I have a show tomorrow night in San Clemente 6-9 and one on Dec 8 in Mission Viejo 8-11. Would love to actually meet you!

  1. I got behing over the 4 day, friends wedding, weekend in early November. I spent the 4 day holiday weekend finally trying to get caught up. So I never even noticed a gap. To me, everyone seems like they have been posting like mad, 2 or 3 or even 4 posts a day. I can’t believe how far behind I can fall just a single, solitary, day.

    1. it’s the nano thing, i think. i almost find it funny ’cause i slowed down on the posting when everyone else sped up. looool. anyway, good to see you again, urban. and lord, glad to be back to normal after the holiday. in dec it’s up to wifesy’s and lawd knows that will bring about a good post or two… looool. xo

  2. I actually googled your website today to make sure you hadn’t posted, and I just didn’t see them. Thought maybe you weren’t showing up in my inbox or my reader. And a few hours later, here you are

    1. i needed that wee break to come at these last 85 with some gusto. which hopefully i have now. anyhoot, glad to be back. lots of interesting ideas to talk about, me hopes. hope you had a great thanksgiving, rubes. xo, sm

    1. i mean, jesus christ. over britney spears??!! what is wrong with people?? loool. it did make for great drama tho. good to see you, irun. and i’m making that ham again. it was a winner. xo, sm

    1. it’s absolutely fine for you to link yours here. ;) i saw your tweet about it and promise to give it my good eye, very, VERY soon. looool. nice to see you, ems. i hope all 3 of you had a fabs turkey day. xo, sm

  3. Missed you Sweet Mother – thought you were probably taking some time for the holiday. NaNo gave me the beat down, but in the mean time (really mean) I got FP’d. Can you believe it? :) welcome back to your quest. I’ll be counting down with you!!

    1. i can ABSOLUTELY believe that and it is so well deserved. i can’t wait to read it. so, so, SO great, my friend. and i can’t imagine you having to answer all of those comments WHILE doing nano. i would’ve cried. loool. but, it’s a good kind of cry, i’m sure. xoxo, sm

  4. Sorry, momma, but even white trash wouldn’t fuck britney spears. In vitro fertilization is what I think has been happening. Either that or space aliens. Poor Ms Lohan is in trouble again. Honestly, can you work your lesbian magic and get these two together. The jokes would write themselves. HF

    1. ohhhhhhhhhhh, harper, i’m only angry that i didn’t think of the delicious disaster that would be a lohan-union first! because it’s brilliant! goddermned brilliant! oh, the damage it would cause. oh, the jokes it would write… loooool. literally, my eyes twinkled when i read your comment. that’s how much i enjoyed it. xo, sm

  5. Sweet Moms, I have a question. What happens when you hit 365? Will you carry on blogging regularishly without the pressure of have to post every day or disappear into the ether leaving a hoard of addicted SweetMotherites with no fix?

    Seriously I don’t want it to end. I love your blog. And I’m passing fond of you too.

    1. fabs, you warm the cockles of momma’s heart. and i don’t even know where my cockles are located. ;0 i think after 365 i will take a brief break and then slow down a bit. probably around 3 posts a week, maybe more when the muse hits me. that’s the plan anyway. so, no, i will not give it up completely. i think i’d miss you all too much. truly. much love, sm

  6. Hey, SM. Welcome back! I’ve missed my daily SweetMother fix. Don’t feel too badly about NaNo. At least your reason was better than mine (my laptop contracted a virus).

    I’ll be cheering you on as you head down that final stretch!

    1. hello foster! good to be back. please, i totally hear the laptop probs. after day 1 i tried to give my laptop ebola, but it didn’t take. thank god i got that writing gig as my excuse instead. loooool. much love, sm

  7. I missed you. A lot. Like, a ridiculously amount of a lot. It’s almost scary to me. Fortunately, I know I am pretty sane and not a danger to anyone. We can all sleep better now. ;)

    1. loooooooool. undercoverL, that is the sweetest comment ever. and don’t worry i don’t fear you’ll make a sweet-mother coat out of my skin. at least i don’t think you would. bwwwaaahhhha. okay, a lil dark. but, i just can’t help myself. much love, underL, much love, sm

      1. ohhhhh, you had me rolling at ‘the ham incident.’ no i don’t think i did see that piece. but, i will check it out now. much love, undercover, much love.

  8. I was wondering when you’d be back. It hasn’t been the same. Now are you saying when you reach the end of the 85 posts, you’re finito? Because if that’s the case, I need some time to prepare.

    1. now, in my hiatus YOU and jen and tonic kept me VERY intrigued. i almost felt like you two were writing for me! how did you find nanowriblo? will i quit completely after 85 posts. no, i don’t think so. i like it to much. but, i DEFINITELY will bring it down to around 3 posts per week. ;) sm

  9. Thank god you were gone. Wait, that sounds bad… What I mean to say is, I was WAY behind in reading, and in a panic, I napalmed my WordPress notifications (like, 200 of them). Relying only on my reader and fate to catch up, I know I’ve not touched base with several people. All this to say, I haven’t totally sucked at coming over, because you weren’t here!
    Also, tres interested in Joan Rivers….
    Welcome back, and congrats on being 76% done with your project!

    1. seeeeeeeeriously. 76% makes it sound ooooh so close, 85 posts makes it sounds oohhh so daunting, but a little over 2 mos shouldn’t be too bad. as for the reading, i have been SHIT at reading. SHIT. that’s why i’m gonna do a ‘blogs of the week’ post. i so want to read more of yours and everybody’s. they come into my reader and i get to read a few of them on my phone, but it’s a pain in the ass to comment from there. sigh. oh, the modern problems. loool. anyhoo, very good to see you, sd. more soon. much love, momma

  10. Hey, it’s good to see you back! I thought you were either taking a holiday break or feverishly working on your NaNo project. Glad to hear you got some good fodder for posts! ;)

  11. Omg…what a fun Thanksgiving! I used to think that Hollywood over dramatized U.S. Thanksgiving dinners but maybe I was wrong. I’m glad you’re back as well and feel bad for not emailing you to make sure you were ok. I’ll spank myself and say it’s from you. ;-)

    1. looool. sounds good to me! nope, i think hollwood painted that one fairly accurate. you know that robert downey/ holly hunter, ‘home for the holidays’ film? very close to my family. very close. loool. anyway, always love seeing you, wendos. xo, sm

  12. Hahaha. These fun-filled family functions are great to revisit at a later time for a good chuckle :P I know exactly what you’re talking about. This is why my family (sadly…or is it wisely…?) doesn’t allow alcohol in the house for holidays. There might be a 6 pack of shitty beer and that’s it.

    1. a very smart rule. we have one that goes like this, NO PS OR R. it means, “No politics, sex, or religion.” usually, we forgo the middle one and let the old people talk about sex while we run out of the room screaming. but, let me tell you, no ps or r has saved many a family function where i’m from… looool. much love, sm

  13. I missed you sm – I want to thank you for introducing me to NaNoWriMo – I finished a couple of days ago and I’m still writing – who knew I could do more than take pictures – seriously, thanks. I think you just might have changed my life :)

  14. I’m glad everything is OK. Sometimes you just have to stop and catch your breath. Always take care of yourself first and then you will be able to take care of those you love … like us … your faithful followers.

  15. Just catching up after a bit of hiatus. Loved the last three. Poor Britney, she is White Trash but can’t really help herself look at how and who did the raising of her.

    Perfect Thanksgiving

  16. Wow. That is impressive high drama. I find it especially interesting because it came from a mother. I hardly ever get to hear mothers tell other people to feck off unless it’s on reality tv. I did tell someone to “get your ass out of here” once but he was a stranger who had offered to cut me and I don’t think he was speaking about my hair. Still I didn’t get to throw a drink. I feel robbed.

Leave a Reply

