websites are dying

Websites Are No Longer The Hive. The Bee Is The Hive.

I built my first website around 1999/ 2000. It was a website for and by talented lady comics, for other lady comics. It was successful in traffic, but it made no money. Wait, that’s not totally true. I couldn’t figure out how to get it to make money.  That’s closer to the truth.

With hindsight being 20/20, I should’ve turned it into a Splitsider or a Cracked and monetized through google ads and then eventually sponsored stories, the way Buzzfeed does.  Or I could’ve tapped into Mediabistro’s original business model and monetized through classifieds.  However, I didn’t have that foresight then. I do now, though.

Using that knowledge, I’ve monetized big sites for big brands.

But…

Something keeps me hesitant on building out further sites.

READ MORE BY CLICKING HERE AND FOLLOWING MY NEW BLOG.

Leave a comment