Okay, I almost never get political to this extent on this blog.  But, after doing my morning workout and trying to continue my zen state through my first sip of decaffeinated coffee, I made the mistake of turning on the news.

 

It was there that I saw today’s biggest story.  The American ambassador to Libya was killed.

 

The inciting incident?

 

A feckin’ video on Youtube.

 

Are you kidding me?

 

I watched the video.  It’s ridiculous.  Bad acting.  Made with a sh*tty green screen from time to time.  The script isn’t good.  It’s 15 minutes of my life that I will never get back because the video makes little sense and comes off like a bad high school play.  But, that is not the point.  The point is…it’s Youtube!!

 

Any weirdo going through a mid-life crisis can upload a video on Youtube to live out the way he “sees” the world.  Any wack-a-loon can upload their disturbing point of view.  It’s an open platform, in terms of uploading, for the most part.

 

I’m sure there are white power videos on Youtube made by idiots.  Does that mean Africa should invade the United States?  I can guarantee you there are anti-European videos up on Youtube.  Does that mean Europe should invade the United States?  And the biggest hate videos of all?  I haven’t done a research study here, but I can bet you the biggest quantity of hate videos just might have an “anti-American” slant.  Does that mean every person who makes such a video should be persecuted?

 

Good God, no.  It’s called free speech.  Not good points made with high production value speech.  It means any idiot can say whatever they want and no one gets hurt…or, at least, that’s the way it’s supposed to go.

 

But, no.  Some extremists watched the video, circulated it, and used a piece of the film that makes “Waiting for Guffman” look like high art as a reason to pillage an American embassy and kill a U.S. ambassador.

 

I am all for religious freedom, but I have to say extremists do not help their cause (nor make their point) with retaliations of this nature.  It makes me think one thing and one thing only – extremists are highly sensitive, vulnerable individuals who can have their feelings hurt thousands of miles away by an idiot.  Very stupid, if you ask me.  Then they are so mentally unbalanced that they retaliate by killing someone who has nothing to do with the video at all.  Ay yay yay.

 

What’s the matter?  Was making your response video too much work?

 

Bottom line, there’s nothing funny about a U.S. ambassador with the pedigree of peace that Christopher Stevens had getting assassinated.  There is no good that comes from offing someone with his background.  For god’s sake, he was conversationally fluent in Arabic!!    Irrelevant to some, maybe, but to me an indicator of someone who is looking to communicate not someone who is looking to lord power over someone else.  If that doesn’t satisfy you, use the more relevant example that Stevens was the American envoy to the rebel group that overthrew Gadhafi.

 

Regardless of your politics, I think it’s easy to see that this one is just, plain, wrong.

 

It’s also really easy to see that this is CNN:

I’ll take a shoe over a bullet as a protest any day.

 

And this is some yahoo on Youtube:

Not really a reason to go ape-shit…

 

Call me crazy, but there’s a big feckin’ difference.  Call me crazy, but maybe we need to flood the Middle East with laptops and internet connections.  So, eventually the zealots will know the difference too.

 

***

Sweet Mother is updated daily-ish.  If you’d like to follow this blog, you can do so by clicking the “follow” link at the top of the page.

 

**

You might also like:

The Benefits of Losing

 

*

Photo creds:

youtube-fire, chriscrocker, bush-cnn

 

